1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
356 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)

·
We get titles?
938 Posts
These two forks are totally different. I've no experience with either, but based on the descriptions, i can tell you a few things that may or may not be helpful.

The Tora is a coil sprung fork which means it has an actual metal spring inside. Coil springs are great if you're an average weight rider, but if you weigh somewhat more or less than average, you'll want to order an appropriate spring and have it installed. Coil springs are heavier, but once you've set your preload, you never have to worry about adjusting them.
The Tora also has the U-turn travel adjustment feature, which means that the travel on the fork can be adjusted whenever you want from 85mm to 130mm by simply cranking a little knob.

The Recon has an air spring which means you set the spring rate by pumping air into the fork. The advantage is that you can customize it for any weight, or set it up firm or soft if you prefer. The disadvantage is that you need to check it every few rides because air springs lose air over time. Also it's lighter, so this fork is a pound lighter than the Tora.
The Recon doesn't really have adjustable travel - it's set at 100mm; if you want to take the fork apart and adjust an internal spacer, you can reduce that to 80mm.
The Recon does have a lock out, which means you can stop the suspension from moving; handy if you ride trails that have long smooth climbs or if you spend a lot of time riding on pavement.

Finally, the Recon only has disc brake bosses, so if you're running v-brakes, you can't use this fork.

·
Registered
6,762 Posts
Quite a bit of difference...