Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Trying to find the right setup for a bike for a 6'1" 185lb upper 30's male. I am new to MTB and have decided to go the hardtail route. I would like to think the majority of my time will be spent on dirt trails but in reality it will probably be 50-50 split on asphalt. I like to take a ride after work but usually just hit the neighborhood streets. I have convinced myself that I need a lockout on the front fork. First salesman at LBS told me they are great to have. Do I really need one? If so what the brand with lowest price to get one. I looked at the Specialized Rockhopper today for $500. That is the lowest price on a name brand mid-level bike with a lockout that I have found.

The Alpine 650 does not come with a lockout so save your breath dogrunr.

Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

·
Registered
834 Posts
A bicycle is not that heavy so it can be lifted and thrown at the back of a truck if someone wants to steal it. The best thing is to keep it locked indoor or buy the biggest and heaviest chain and lock and secure it on an immovable object like an electric post if you want to park it outside briefly. *

*oops, brain fart... when I saw the word lock - the brain went on armed mode:rolleyes:

cannondales have one of the most effective fork-lockouts and easily accessible on top of the stem.
http://www.cannondale.com/bikes/06/CUSA/model-6FS4.html

"The Alpine 650 does not come with a lockout so save your breath dogrunr." :D\

·
Registered
12,083 Posts
I dont have lockout. Buddy does.

He stands up and goes to out accelerate me.

Without lockout (front and rear) standing just bleeds away all the power.

I shift down sit still and spin.

So far I can beat him.

·
ride hard take risks
25,423 Posts
jeffscott said:
I dont have lockout. Buddy does.

He stands up and goes to out accelerate me.

Without lockout (front and rear) standing just bleeds away all the power.