Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
3,558 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Voodoo Dambala that I really like. I talked my friend who is tall and with a very long torso into the buying their largest frame. After he got it and was waiting for parts I read on this forum that there might be a foot strike issue. Well it turned out to be true which is in my mind a total bummer and speaks of poor execution. He is running 180 cranks and has a large foot and the overlap is close to an inch.

How can you not design a frame around this critical measurement??? Bigger frames are for bigger people with bigger feet and probably longer cranks. Why wasn't the top tube made at least an inch longer? The bottom bracket to middle of front hub is not much greater than on my bike even though it is 2 sizes larger. I would really hesitate to recommend this bike to anyone until they figure out if they will encounter the foot strike issue.

·
And He was Not
1,686 Posts
I'm 6.0 and have no foot strike. Size 42 shoe,19 inch frame. It is real close with a Wb fork.I have let a friend of mine ride my bike that wore a 10.5 shoe and he was all over the tire, might have been ok with a Reba.

·
highly visible
3,284 Posts
Dambalas run steep angles and short top tubes for quick handling. The toe overlap issue is well known with this bike. It is inherent in such a design -- not at all a matter of poor execution, though VooDoo could do a better job of communicating the unique fit issues with their frame.