Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
viva la v-brakes!
2,440 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
TLDR: Has anyone used both Ritchey WCS foam grips and ESI Chunky? Which did you like best and why?

I have been running the WCS grips for over 10 years, very comfortable, good grip so you can let you hands rest a bit. For $12 they typically last 2 seasons before getting too cut-up to use. Pretty light at like 45g

Last year I tried the Ritchey SuperLogic foam grips which come in at just 12 grams, but cost $25. They worked great at first, comfy and grippy... but the grippy seems to have worn-off and now they're pretty slick, leading to death grip and hand fatigue.

I'm considering trying out ESI grips. They weigh a bit more than the WCS grips but still not bad, but they do cost like $20. There are a lot of options, the Chunky look comfortable but I'm worried they be too big for my small hands. However, if I get the XL version I could fill in the current gap between my grips and brakes/shifters.

Thoughts anyone? And before you say it, I'm not interested in Ergon.

·
Elitest thrill junkie
39,133 Posts
I can't stand the chunky grips, it's just too big in my hand. I love the tapered ESIs. I run them backwards with the fat-part towards the middle of the bar. The ESIs aren't all that light, likely because they are silicone and not foam. IME, the ESIs don't pack down too bad over time, if at all, like more "foamy" grips do.

·
Student of the Bike
810 Posts
Yeah, I completely understand that grips are very subjective and personal. I expected to see plenty of "nope I run something else". What surprises me is the "I've run then and don't like them".

-CJB

·
Registered
5,819 Posts