Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Professional Crastinator
6,828 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So this weekend I went and rode all the trails that I don't usually ride: the flow trails.
Locally, that's West Creek, East Rim 1 & 2 (ER2 is quite scenic) + Edson Run (those launch angles are up there! - and I am not good at that :oops: ? :D), and Hampton Hills (and probably Austin Badger, but I did not ride there)

I basically dropped the saddle, put it in a big gear, and let gravity take over.
It's ALL just sculpted turns and jumps. I know plenty of riders love the flow, but I could not see doing more than 2 laps at any of these places unless I had no other options. After awhile, all those high-G berms and tabletops just all looked the same.
Except for a few rock jumps, which I find very entertaining, and a few random half-buried rocks and rock piles, the advanced section at ER1 was the only thing that had my full attention.
Did I improve my cornering? Yes.
Did I improve my jumping? Yes.
But I think the next trail project should be a mixed bag: a little of everything - maybe a flow circuit within a larger natural terrain trail.

Not sure what to make of it.

-F

PS - Sunday direction at ER2 is the best!

·
Registered
20,141 Posts
I’ll admit that I get a little bored with an all-flow trail too, unless the jumps are big enough that I’m pushing my limits. Rock sections and wood features within a flow trail make it more fun.

If you can easily clear every jump then you could work on throwing some tricks to spice things up.

·
Registered
1,414 Posts
But I think the next trail project should be a mixed bag: a little of everything - maybe a flow circuit within a larger natural terrain trail.
A mixed bad is well said. I rode a newer flow(ish) trail this weekend. But we had to do 1000 feet of climbing and tech to get to it. Then the first part of the flow trail has some decent tech spots, where you have to slow, spot your line, then let go.

·
Registered