Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok heres the deal, bought a bike off ebay, a Specialized Hardrock Comp, the one with disc brakes, forks were broke and the seller replaced them, got a pair of forks just like the ones that cmae stock, Marzoochi MZ Comps. THe derailers need adjusting and the brakes do too. I will take the bike to the LBS and let them tune it, but should i go ahead and get things right, such as replacing calbes, even if they are still usable? The wheels need to be trued, there are some bolts here and there showing rust, should I rpelce them right off. I need your advice riders, im new to the sport, raced bmx when i was like 6, raced motocross recently, but Im new to the sport so whatever you can tell me would be great.

·
Registered
497 Posts
blackyz125 said:
Ok heres the deal, bought a bike off ebay, a Specialized Hardrock Comp, the one with disc brakes, forks were broke and the seller replaced them, got a pair of forks just like the ones that cmae stock, Marzoochi MZ Comps. THe derailers need adjusting and the brakes do too. I will take the bike to the LBS and let them tune it, but should i go ahead and get things right, such as replacing calbes, even if they are still usable? The wheels need to be trued, there are some bolts here and there showing rust, should I rpelce them right off. I need your advice riders, im new to the sport, raced bmx when i was like 6, raced motocross recently, but Im new to the sport so whatever you can tell me would be great.
If your brakes/derailleurs work OK after the necessary adjusting, there really is no need to replace cables. That's a great bike, you'll have fun.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks