Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
728 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hmm....undecided at this point. Definitely a lot of new things to get used to...

new bike (FS and went from 63mm setup to 80mm on the front fork...the weight distribution feels different)
new brake setup(I had a front cable disk and rear rim brake on the hardtail)
new tires (I've never used the Conti Explorer Pros)
new pedals (i've been spd for a while, but new pedals are new pedals)

I had a decent ride - cleaned some sections I struggle with on the first try, but I'm not sure if it's the bike or the fact I've been working on my technical skills.

The front tire felt like it had the tendency to wash out a bit - I'm not sure if it's from the weight distribution, bike setup or the new tires or me.

This is my first time using hydraulic brakes. I found myself accidentally locking up both tires in a corner - yowza...I guess some people think that's cool...for me it's ok as long as I don't crash! Lost some confidence using the brakes and my pedals sticking a bit - so I was cautious and didn't ride some things I normally do...

I could tell the difference on the sketchy rocky descents...in the past - I literally felt like a bouncing ball...bouncing my way down the trail. I got used to it and I figured that was the way to ride a hardtail. I distinctly felt that way on my last trip down Porcupine Rim. On the FS I actually felt like I was "rolling" down the trail. On the moderately bumpy stuff it was pretty darn smooth...like buttah. ;) I could see how I could go much faster in that type of terrain.

The jury is still out - maybe after a full long weekend of riding I'll be more certain. (my little hardtail was cool...I miss that little guy, he was good to me...) Regardless it will be fun spending the weekend riding and figuring it out! :)

happy trails!

·
Registered
233 Posts