Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
767 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Here is some first impressions of the Panaracer 29 x 2.35. I've never used a tire this big before, and can't say I'd race with it, but figured I'd experiment with them over the fall and winter.

Just as an FYI- I've only ever used Maxxis Ignitor 29ers before and I have them on Salsa Delgado/XT wheels built up at Bikeman.com and the air pressure set at 35 psi. I have the rear rolling the same as the front and not in the direction recomended by the sidewall.

Yesterday was the first ride on the Panaracer Rampage 29 x 2.35s. They left a pretty good first impression. They seemed to corner very well in the fall leaves, dug in nicely on the climbs and they didn't feel as heavy as I thought they would. They didn't fair well on some of the wet clay/dirt corners of my local trail system, but then again I've yet to run ANY tire that could dig into that stuff.

They shinned at making me feel like I had some added suspension. The big balloon tires, aired up to 35 psi seemed to soak up whatever the Dos Niner's Reba (80mm) and Salsa Relish (1") shocks didn't, and added some extra cush. Folks who run full ridgid 29ers are gonna love these tires.

Didn't have any clearance problems with the mud and leaves. On one service road climb I had the Reba locked out and was standing on the climb and I swear I felt the tire rub. I tried to replicate it a few more times during the ride and didn't notice anything, so it MAY have bee my imagination or some mud/gravel rubbing. I'll be keeping an eye on it on future rides.

On pavement they peformed as you would expect a knob headed 2.35 tire to perform. Little loud and a little sluggish. Would not be my first tire choice for a race like the Wilderness 101 or Mohican 100, that include road and forest road sections, but they rocked in the dirt and rock.