Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
mtbr member
702 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This may sound like a silly question but it is one that applies to me. :confused:
I have been recently doing a LOT of training for my first 18 mile race. I am a newb on the mtb scene as my other bikes are 20"er's. Anyway I put platform pedals on my prophet and have never even tried clipless. I have the pedals and shoes but am afraid of the change. My question is... 1. Will I be competitive with platform pedals?(vs. clipless)
and 2. How long did it take to get comfortable fastened in?
Oh and the race is May 1st.

·
Linoleum Knife
3,323 Posts
mtbidwell said:
This may sound like a silly question but it is one that applies to me. :confused:
I have been recently doing a LOT of training for my first 18 mile race. I am a newb on the mtb scene as my other bikes are 20"er's. Anyway I put platform pedals on my prophet and have never even tried clipless. I have the pedals and shoes but am afraid of the change. My question is... 1. Will I be competitive with platform pedals?(vs. clipless)
If you haven't used clipless pedals, don't try them out on your first race. You will be more competitive with a bike you are familiar with than trying to learn how to race AND trying to learn how to use clipless pedals.

It honestly took me about a year to get comfortable being clipped in. You spend a lot of time trying to figure out where the cleat is in relationship to the pedal, and how to get started on an uphill with only one foot clipped in. Now it is second nature, and it feels very weird to NOT be clipped in.

·
born to chill
986 Posts
mtbidwell said:
In spite of what I'm about to say I'd probably do like Forkboy says and just ride flats, unless you ride a lot between now and then w/your clipless and get used to them.