Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not sure if this should go in Racing or Beginners, but thought I'd start here.

I'm planning on using a SS in my first XC race (mostly easy-to-advanced intermediate singletrack). This is a "fun" race (but still lots of competitive classes) so I thought I'd try it out on my Monocog 29. I've been riding this bike for a few months now, and I'd like to try this whole racing thing as a new way to enjoy the trails (or suffer, as the case may be).

I'm not really a beginner, but I'm just getting back into regularly riding MTB after about 10 years or so. I have never raced in the past, so this is all new to me.

I'm not going to race in the SS class, as that's an extra lap and I don't think I'm quite ready for that - plus based upon last year's results, that's quite a competitive class and I don't think that's a good fit for me. I'm planning on riding clydesdale, which goes out as a group with the men's beginners. That seems like a better fit for my skill/fitness level, regardless of the SS. I know the clydes can be competitive (as well as beginners), but I think I'd rather be out on the course at the same time with people going about my speed.

Anyway - are there any issues riding SS in other classes? The organizers don't seem to have a problem with it, but I guess I was just wondering about general etiquette when you do that - for example, I'll probably be running up a few hills, etc. Just kind of curious how that works. I want to do the best I can, but I also don't want to be the jerk that's holding everyone up because I think I'm joe cool on my SS ;)

Any experiences riding SS for the first time in a race? Especially as a relative novice? I'm just trying to prepare myself.

·
Registered
835 Posts
heywood said:
I was just wondering about general etiquette when you do that - for example, I'll probably be running up a few hills, etc. Just kind of curious how that works.