Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
420 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty new to MTB bike racing and just had my first race of the year here in Portland. the short track series is held on a motocross course and its surrounding. It was a really fun time and there were a ton of people in the race. in my class, sport, there was probably over 50 then another 40 or so older sport guys that started a min later. It was great but i didn't do nearly as well as i would have liked. Not to make excuses or being a whinoid but i blame my start, First I think i picked the wrong side of the line, and the people i was around. I was on the left which put me on the inside of the first turn, I was also slightly behind the first row. I didn't have a very fast start, I missed clipping into my pedal fast like, with that little mistake i got boxed in right away behind some slower people and not being able to accelerate, then the whole right side started merging into the left, and the people on the left seemed to be letting them cut in front. before I knew it i had about 30 + people in front of me, I was able to pass a few people before the first big bottle neck about 40 sec in the course. It was a total traffic jam moving at a snails pace going through the narrow section, all in the while the lead group nuked ahead widening the gap. Some people jumped off there bikes in these sections and ran pass the line of bikers in the traffic jam. I don't know what the etiquette is on this, but personally i thought it was sort of lame. It sort of seems like cutting in line? I ended up passing many of them later in the race. After the first 2 laps and going through multiple bottle necks with bad traffic jams and falling a few times from taking stupid passes, i was really far out from the lead pack. Also I was more exhausted then i should have been, with the falling, breaking and acceleration through hordes of people it really took its toll on me, so i took a la