Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

Im very new to this basically I am a hiker converted to wanting to do this since nobody will hike with me. I have zero gear and am looking into buying a Hardtail for trails and such my LBS is having a sale on 2010 bikes and I have found these

10 Specialized Hardrock Disc for $359.99

and 10 Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc 29 $469.99

What would you guys recommend? Or should I stay away from this bike and look elsewhere. I havent decided to go with a 29er or not I really dont know what the difference is. Also I cannot tell if these bikes have a lockout or not from the sites Ive been looking at.

Anyways would either of these be good bikes to start with whats the better bang for the buck?

Also what else should I buy I do plan of riding tomorrow at Chino Hills State Park if I get the bike. I mean tools? spare stuff? Helmet obvously right? As a beginer whos looking to push it what would you recommend.

Thanks a million you guys rock!

·
Registered
12,083 Posts
Test ride the bikes, Buy either bike then go ride it.....a lot

After a while you will begin to understand everything...

Then you can get a better bike if you want.

Spare tube, pump, bike multi tool, gloves and glasses.

·
Picture Unrelated
5,123 Posts
First off, it doesn't matter how much they're selling them for if they don't fit you. Assuming they have your size available, then it comes down to which you like riding best. Have you test rode those two bikes? The only real difference between the two is the wheel size. I can't tell you which wheel size you would prefer, it's personal preference. I personally like 26" wheels because I do most of my riding in technical areas, but there are lots of areas where a 29er would be a great choice.

I might suggest asking the LBS for help. Ask them what kind of bike the people riding the same places as you typically ride. And TEST RIDE.

·
Registered