Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just getting into Mtn biking and I have two bikes in mind for my first bike. I would appreciate any input, thoughts, or opinions on these two bikes or first bikes in general. Below are links to the bikes.

I am looking at this Cannondale Trail SL 3
Cannondale Trail SL 29er 3 - Kozy's Chicago Bike Shops | Chicago Bike Stores, Bicycles, Cycling, Bike Repair

as well as this previous model Trek Mamba
Trek Mamba (Gary Fisher Collection) - Village Cycle Center - Chicago's Best Bike Shop, The Bike Experts for Bicycle Sales and Service.

The Trek is a lot cheaper at $820 but the Cannondale won't exactly break my bank at $1,030. The Cannondale is as much as I am willing to spend though. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
323 Posts
Hard to tell from the specs but I don't think either bike has an air spring front fork.
If they don't, check out the airborne seeker, it is in your budget. Also, Airborne has an active forum, so check there for reviews. The other key thing is you want hydraulic disc brakes, not mechanical. Finally, craigslist. A bike shop in my area is dumping new Santa Cruz Superlight 29ers for around $1,519 right now. More than you want to pay, but you could just ride it for years without any upgrades and it is full suspension. Chicago is a large city, there has to be some good used bikes on craigslist. I live near Boston and I have seen some great deals on craigslist in your price range.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you for the suggestion. I've never heard of airborne but their seeker model does seem to be specd out nicely (from what I can tell). I saw the bike at this link here: http://www.vitalmtb.com/product/guide/Bikes,3/Airborne/Seeker,13765#product-specs