Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My first post, and I want to thank those that are kind enough to read my post and offer some guidance on this big investment for me. I'm 5'11" and 180lb. I'm open to any suggestions of other bike recommendations, or an assessment of my current options.

Hi I'm looking to get back into mountain biking. I'm looking for a good entry level mountain bike that will survive the weekends on Long Island bike trails, and serve some small purpose for on campus commuting. I'm a newb and don't expect to be bombing any large drops (<4'). I'm looking to spend $300-600 dollars after tax on a bike. I believe a base hardtail 29er will suite my needs based on my reading. Based on what I have seen at my LBS I will have to pay msrp ~550 on a 2014 GT timberline 1.0 which looks nice but doesn't have the best components at that price. I can instead get the northrock XC6 and tune everything myself with the benefit of returning to costco a month down the line if I'm not happy. The third option is a specialized m4 s-works used on CL for $600, I don't know the year or quality. And the last option which looks like the biggest gamble, is bikesdirect.com.

It seems that costco would provide the most worry free purchase. While the LBS offers the most expensive but complete experience? And of course I have no idea about the CL listing and bikesdirect.com. I feel purchasing from the last two will provide me a bike that will provide me little return on my investment if I decide the bike isn't for me.

these are the links to the 3 bikes I'm interested in now
$550 @ LBS
GT bike Timberline 1.0 NEW 2014

$370 @ costco Lifetime return policy
Northrock Bike - Mountain Bike - xc6

$600 @ CL used I'm guessing 5 years old. Looks like a 26" FS have no idea though
specialized fs M4 S-Works mountain bike