Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I just got my first full suspension mt bike. I have been riding hardtails for 15 years and wanted to finally try a full suspension to hopefully get a more comfortable ride. The bike gets 4 inches of travel. I filled the rear shock to the recommended air pressure for my weight and took it out for a test. I first rode off some curbs and it "gushed" nicely a big difference from the "thud" of my hardtail. I then took it out on some trails. I rode some rocky, bumpy singletrack and some washboard sections of gravel road and did not notice a difference from my hardtail. I'm wondering if full suspension is really worth it? If I'm not getting an improved ride over my hardtail could that mean that I have too much air in the shock? I plan on experimenting with different amounts of air pressure in the rear shock when I get more time.

-So what kind of diffference should I expect with a full suspenson?

-Is full suspension only noticibly different on big drops and when going very fast?

-Should I notice a difference on a washboard section of a road?

-Will full suspension benefit me when riding about 5mph through bumpy technical singletrack?

-What is the theory with bikes that have 6+ inches of travel? More travel = softer ride? or does more travel only benefit riders doing bigger drops?

Thanks for any info or advice you can provide. Its much appreciated.

·
Freshly Fujified
8,199 Posts
Welcome to the forums

It sounds like from the way you've described things that you need to do some work on dialling in the rear shock. You should notice a difference in the washboard sections and other small bump type terrain once you get the shock set up properly. I would start by decreasing the air pressure a little bit. It will take some time to get the balance between minimizing pedal bob ane getting the shock to engage on the smaller bumps.