Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am kinda a newbie to the whole sport of MBing and recently began biking everywhere I can in order to save some gas. I also would like to start riding some trails during the week and on the weekend. I am currently riding a very "tired" Gary Fisher Wahoo (far from trail appropriate) and I am considering purchasing a Gary Fisher Sugar 293. One of the thoughts behind that choice is I was interested in trying out many new components (disc brakes, full suspension, front shocks, and of course 29" wheels). Fishers seem to hold up pretty well atleast for my riding and I would like it to last for some time. I also plan on learning a little from the LBS that I would purchase it from and maybe help out the "tired" Wahoo. Does anyone have any advice on this choice of bike as a first 29er? Or if you have any other thoughts or opinions they would be appreciated again I am a newbie.

·
Recovering couch patato
14,017 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

Honestly, you being an MTB newbie, I can hardly think of a more appropriate bike to buy! All say it's a good bang for the buck, many reviews in this forum have told about it's handling, the bike just works. Since you made it this far to begin with, we don't have to give you the 29" rap, do we?

Please, as a newbie, try not to bother about anything people will try to tell you about lighter bikes being soooo much better. Light weight is the ultimate way to persuade riders to upgrade otherwise perfectly fine bikes.
What a luxury, an FS 29" as your second bike!

Enjoy!

J

·
Always Learning
9,607 Posts
palndrm12 said: