Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm planning on riding in the B63 race in Breckenridge this weekend (that's the 100K version of the Breck 100 miler). Having just done the Firecracker 50 a couple of weeks ago, I'm trying to get a feel for how they compare and what I'll need for the B63 (no Aid stations on the loops).

I'm still relatively new at this, so I'm certainly not setting any records. I'm mostly in it just to race against myself. For instance, my time in the Firecracker was about 7:15 (yeah, over 7 hours :^( 3 hours for lap 1, then 4:15 for lap 2. I think I had some issues with pacing and fueling (and have plans to address that). Hopefully things will go better this weekend.

Can anybody who has done both comment on the differences/similarities between the races? With better pacing and fueling, I'm hoping I can average a little better than the 6.9mph I managed for the Firecracker (I'd be pretty happy with 7-7.5mph). Assuming 7 mph, that'd mean about 3:30 for the first 23 mile loop and about 4:30 for the second 32 mile loop. BTW, anybody know where the extra 8 miles (to make 63) comes in?

Do those times sound at all realistic, given my Firecracker time? Is the B63 course significantly harder (and slower)?

TIA.

-Darrin

·
Registered
5,577 Posts
Well, I designed both the Firecracker and the B100 courses and they are vastly different. The B100 loops are longer, have more cimbing, have more technical sections and are at higher altitude.