Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
434 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone,

I have been riding a mtb for about 15 years now and have been an avid 26" hardtail rider. This spring I bought my first 29er hardtail and have had the following experiences on the bigger wheels:
* Track stands are easier
* Traction is hugely improved
* All of the tech sections that required me to dance around on the bike before I can simply ride with a decent line choice and a little movement.
* Cornering is improved once I learned the timing with a bigger wheel.

I do need to get better at manuals and pumping the ground when riding. Right now my manuals are pretty weak at maybe 4" height tops, and for some reason I cannot pump at all. Any pointers?

Thanks

·
WillWorkForTrail
4,989 Posts
Manuals are going to be difficult on a 29er, not impossible but difficult, and that's pretty much the long and the short of it. Pumping really shouldn't be much different from the 26ers you've been riding in terms of feel. The timing is just a little different. A guy on one of our local rides told me you couldn't pump a 29er because the heavy wheels didn't spin up enough in each pump to make any difference to the overall speed. The conversation started as a result of my pointing out the next section of trail could basically be pumped to the point where you flew for the next 1/4 to 1/3 of a mile, to which he agreed, but then pointed out it wouldn't work for me. I still haven't figured out why it took him so long to catch up to me.

All I can tell you about pumping is practice it obsessively, pump off roots or any little depression in the trail. Once you start to hit the sweet spot a few times, your body should start to learn the timing, and just latch on to it, and you're off.

·
beater
5,932 Posts
Before I bought a DJ, I rode my Prime in our local park's pump track a dozen times or so. It's not ideal, but it can be done.