Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am kinda new to real mountain biking. I always jumped rocks and such with my huffies and old schwinns. A couple years ago I bought a used kona lavadome with conti road tires and an older model rock shox fork. It was amazing and still is. But now I want to go back to jumping things and doing manuals etc etc. So these past few weeks I have been scouting out mtbreview and vendor sites for good deals on quality parts. I bought the following things.

1. 2003 Rock Shox judy xc new - 80.00
2. M-525 Shimano hydro front brake new - 50.00
3. WTB speedisc dual duty wheels with with nano raptor tires used - 50.00
4. Sette venn stem and vector straight bar new - 20.00
5. Oury handlebar grips new - 6.00
6. KORE bike chain stay used- 10.00
7. Thomson elite seatpost used - 25.00
8. FSA The pig headset new - 20.00
9. Sette mx2 Cromoly Skewers new - 6.00
10.Panaracer fire xc pro rear tire new - 14.00
11.Nice looken Bell helmet new - 6.50

So all this stuff and some other things i bought came out to about 300 dollars. I was originally going to keep it simple but i just couldnt help myself, buying things is so damn fun. Anyway now i am wondering if i should have just bought a whole new bike. You guys think i got a good deal on this stuff? My main goal was good quality, light parts and good price. I know a lot of peeps dont like rock shox anymore but for 80.00 and me being a novice i thought it would be okay. I have some noob questions.

1. Any tips for installing handlebars
2. What exactly is a starnut?
3. My BB is 68/110 i couldnt find any good deals on a new BB and crankset, you guys recommend something for under 50 dollars?
4. What things need to be greased and what things should be left alone?
5. If you got any parts laying around and think they would be good for my bike post and ill get back to you.