Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Person
775 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone use Filzer tools from MEC? Are they worth buying, or should I expect them to break/wear-out the 1st I use them?

Mainly looking for cone wrenches that will rarely get used (don't like repacking hubs, but I feel it should be done every 5 years or so;) )

·
Evil Jr.
6,859 Posts
I've had good luck with all the ones I've bought so far (headset wrenches and BB tool) but I'm a home mechanic. I'm sure the pros will have their own opinion. :)

·
Registered
26 Posts
I bought them a few months ago and have not been impressed. One of the wrenches are striped as the metal is quite soft and the free wheel tool keeps breaking links. I am a home mechanic and am wishing I spent the extra cash on the Park tools instead.

·
Person
775 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the replies. I ended up buying a double-end cone wrench, looks good enough to be used once every 5 years! Wanted to get a spoke wrench as well, but they looked terrible. Will be spending a few more $$ to get a Park one.

Also bought the $5 MEC brand chain cleaner, as I hate cleaning chains. It works pretty well, $5 in degreaser should last me the year. :)

·
Registered
103 Posts
Dont be fooled by a Brand name . Yes park has the industry name for bike tools , but some of the other brand are fractions of the cost and work exactly the same . We live in a world were brand name sometimes overrules common sense .
Ive had Park tools brake on me and other like Filzer , sette , and pedros work flawlessly .
Not all tools are created equal , just inspect before you buy . Look for things like were are the tools made , are they stamped cut or cast tools , feel the weight of it compared to the other models . My tool box is a mix of all brands . And in the jusk box sits two park BB wrenches that have snaped and some cheap ass chain tool with " no name " . I now own a park chain tool and works great .