Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay so as title says im a bit of a noob. Its been 12 years since iv rode a mtn bike. Ive been seein 26 27.5 and 29ers one thing I don't understand is the 650b ,I can't see how it would be very noticeable.

Second question. Steel vs aluminum vs carbon. Okay okay yes steel is obviously heavy. Aluminum is light and strong. Carbon is very light and strong I get that. However from instances ive seen whew someone crashes carbon isnt the best for impacts like that. So why use a full carbon bike? Unlesd your sponsored and get free stuff.

Aluminum can be just as light in most cases using the right type aluminum and can take a bit more of a beating. Now excuse me if im totally ignorant but if I'm wrong in any of this please help me understand. Thanks.

Oh btw my name carbonfever is just a name lol I use no carbon parts

·
Registered
309 Posts
The best way to see the differences between wheel sizes is to go out and ride a few different bikes. Check with your local bike shops to see what demo bikes they have, but even on a spin around the parking lot you should be able to notice some difference (although the amount of time it's been since you've been on a mountain bike might make that harder). I can notice a difference between my 26er and the 650b bikes I've ridden and it's a difference I like.