Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
260 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding single speeds for the last 4 years in various forms. Most of the time I have just guessed on set up etc and it has worked OK- everything from half links, to using chain retention systems to using sliders- but I decided I needed to get some help.

Was hoping to get some feed back on chains-
I have a salsa gear front ring and a Niner (or king cog depending on trail)- What kind of chain would you use for this kind of set up?

The frame has slider drop outs if that helps.

Thank you in advance.

·
Registered
12,702 Posts
paco664 said:
i have been running a beefy half-link chain and i love it... haven't had a single drop......

first, that chain is on backwards. half-link chains are meant to be directional.

second, is that a KMC Pintle chain? half-link chains are notorious for stretching like rubber, but those Pintle chains have a horrible track record for snapping on most people within two weeks. it's a ticking time bomb on your bike.

·
3,707 Posts
mack_turtle said:
first, that chain is on backwards. half-link chains are meant to be directional.

second, is that a KMC Pintle chain? half-link chains are notorious for stretching like rubber, but those Pintle chains have a horrible track record for snapping on most people within two weeks. it's a ticking time bomb on your bike.
paco664 said:
yeah... but they aren't near as pretty.....
I don't think function is his primary goal.

·
beware the grammar police
753 Posts
mack_turtle said:

yes... its a KMC pintle chain.... and it has ~250 miles on it with no problem at all .... as for directional i saw nothing on the chain giving a direction of motion......seems like if it was that important they would mark it...... it will continue to function "backwards".......

i am very satisfied with the performance it has given and will purchase another when this one wears out...... thanks for your concern....

·