Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, so I've been training for 3 years (with varying degrees of success) but I still struggle all the time with this: How to properly schedule and execute my workouts each week with respect to my level of fatigue. Let me explain:

Friel goes on and on about how you shouldn't be fatigued or leg-weary during training, that you should go into hard workouts with your legs feeling "fresh and snappy" etc. But how much fatigue is too much? I mean for me, a baseline of zero leg fatigue, or when my legs feel absolutely 100% only comes on a rare day after a taper or a week off. With that as a baseline, the rest of the time, I'm somewhere between 50% and 95% On the worst days when my legs feel like concrete, I obviously know I should quit and take a rest day or two. Other than that, most days in the middle of a training block I'd say I'm between like 70% and 90% and I really struggle over how hard I should workout, if I need more rest or should push it, etc. How do you know? I live in constant fear that I'm either training too much and driving my legs into a hole of fatigue, or am over-sensitive and should train harder.

Obviously, this can be a complicated question as lots of factors impact fatigue. Let's assume I'm doing most things right, have a solid base, good diet/sleep and am not overtrained or anything. What I really want to know is, am I the only one who feels this way? My training partners give me the impression that they just feel 100% all the time and it drives me crazy. Are there some practical ways some of you have developed for gaging your fatigue and training accordingly?

·
Registered
562 Posts