Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Fatbike Ride in the Susitna Drainage 1/2-1/4

Start: At Pt Mac General Store Friday Jan 2, (9AM Breakfast- 10AM Start... allow 2hrs from Anchorage)

Route:To Luce's Lodge on Day 1, Day 2 Possibly Yentna Stn condition and rider dependent, Day 3 Return.

Information:This is of course another training ride for the winter cyclist seeking to better understand their gear/sport/trail/task. So feel free to come along for a short day ride, overnight or three day ass chafer! Carpool available, otherwise self sufficient. Should be fun we may rent a cabin at Luce's for a dee-luxe evening on Friday but do plan to bivvy. I am not really an expert, nor can I predict the future so who knows what will happen on this ride. Ideally:we ride to Luce's day 1 then to Yentna Stn day 2 then return to Pt Mac day2/3. Possibly:we fight our way to Flathorn Lake over the course of 2 days and spend 3 more returning home. I am sure evryone will have a good time no matter what so come on out!

Please RSVP via AKSPOKES http://akspokes.com/forum/showthread.php?p=5991#post5991
and shame your friends into doing the same!

Roster
Billy Koitzsch (still fragrant from last time...)
Frank McGuire (still shaking from last time...)

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Ride Report: Jan 2 & 3 Susitna Drainage

Awesome ride/ cold weather survival training. Went out the gasline to the Su, pushed upriver a few miles and bivvied in the woods. Crystal clear views of McKinley, stars, crunchy snow, and low, low temps (a hair past -35 at night).
Many lessons were learned as it was quite a challenge to do camp and do bike/gear chores at those temps.
Remember breakfast is the most important meal of the day! Ride was cut short by a day, but 50+ miles in those conditions was plenty o' adventure for us, and we got back to Pt Mac Gen Store close to 9- just in time for the burger fest.