Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well last year i decided to get into mountain biking and got a specialized hardrock 29er...that lasted for about 3 months and I sold that and built a Specialized Stumpy 29er...so some where in there I also rented a Trek Scratch and ran some of the lift access DH trails at Burke Mountain in East Burke VT... now having a friend that owns a bike shop does not help with my toy addiction and he calls me the other day to say there is a 2011 Big Hit 3 with a Boxxer RC on the scratch/dent list for specialized...well I had him order it today!!!

Ever since renting that Scratch i've been wanting to do more DH but paying $100 a day to rent a bike doesnt seem rational...

So since i'm new to DH what do i need to invest in? I figure i'll use my ATV helmet for now till i wanna splurge on something lighter. I'm probably going to look for full armor but what do you guys recomend? Also what type of shoes do you wear?

I'll be riding at places like Whiteface Mountain in NY, probably Bromant in Quebec, Burke Mountain in VT and Highland in NH.

·
Registered
312 Posts
Get leg armor first! My first trip downhilling was to whiteface and I had realized that it was very stupid to not bring pads. I have the storm leg armor and it fits perfect, you just need to find armor that wont slide down your legs while riding.

Good luck and have fun this season.

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
ruralrider528 said:
Get leg armor first! My first trip downhilling was to whiteface and I had realized that it was very stupid to not bring pads. I have the storm leg armor and it fits perfect, you just need to find armor that wont slide down your legs while riding.

Good luck and have fun this season.
i'll look into that...see what my buddy can get at the shop.

do you go to whiteface very often?

·
Registered
682 Posts