Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to competitive cycling. I've only done a few fun races but I've been mountain biking for about three years. I joined a competitive club last year but didn't compete much with them, just trained for a strong season this year. I went onto a pretty strict workout regime for the winter--> 3x per week weights, 2x per week intervals on rollers( 1 endurance, 1 leg speed), 3x per workouts on trainer(2* short intervals, 1 2x20' intervals). I had planned to do a lot of road races this season so that training was also geared to that and mountain bike races. I've been doing that for 3-4 months (weight routines and intervals have changed throughout by coach) and my fitness has sky rocketed. Two weeks ago I got really sick and it has been the first extended time off my bike. I've completely lost my motivation to race or train to race. I've realized that now I see riding as a chore, like something I have to do, to get certain distances in or ride at a certain % HR for so long. Not to mention the fact that I'm questioning my coach's decisions and coaching style. I know that eventually I want to race but I don't want to go back to having my workouts take up all my free time as something I don't really want to do. I'm going to university next year so I couldn't even get anywhere with my racing if I wanted. Has this every happened to any of you? completely lost your motivation? Will the cycling community see me as a failure? My club and coach will not be supportive, they're extremely competitive.

·
Registered
220 Posts
many times structured training will burn people out. Especially if youre relatively new to riding and/or racing.

I have a similar experience. Big racing plans>powermeter>coach>structure, etc.