Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,
I am new to the XC racing and I want to purchase an Epic.
My problem is what size I shout get.
I am 5'10 and I currently ride a Specialized s-works M2 17.5 or 18"(top tube is about 595mm). It fits me well, but the Epic geometry is a bit different.
Could anyone recommend a size for me for the Epic? I think that I should go either with the M or L.
Thank you,
Alessandro

·
Registered
1 Posts
Epic Size

Everyone is different in the style of riding that they do but my situation is very similar to yours. I was riding a '98 M2 stumpy comp 17.5 inch. It fit me well. Test rode the '05 Epic Marathon Med and Lg. No question the Lg was the size for me. I am 5'11 by the way. Good luck.

·
Registered
39 Posts
desouza said:
Hey guys,
I am new to the XC racing and I want to purchase an Epic.
My problem is what size I shout get.
I am 5'10 and I currently ride a Specialized s-works M2 17.5 or 18"(top tube is about 595mm). It fits me well, but the Epic geometry is a bit different.
Could anyone recommend a size for me for the Epic? I think that I should go either with the M or L.
Thank you,
Alessandro
FWIW, my crotch to floor measurement is 78.5 cm and I ride a size M Epic with 175 mm crankarms. Though I haven't measured it exactly, there appears to be about 5 cm of seatpost left before reaching the "insert limit" line on the stock post -- plenty, but close. I'm also riding a 120 mm stem with 5 degree rise and am not even all that stretched out. My guess is you're right on the border line, and could probaby use an L.

MartyLane

·
Super Moderator
20,809 Posts
I ride a Large,