Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
change is good
3,065 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I performed multiple searches and found alot of good info. I am partial to the ENOs but I've didn't really find many comments from cyldes regarding stiffness. I love the stiffness of my new XTRs but wonder if that stiffness would be noticeable on my new steel SS frame. I weigh 230lb and I used to be able to squat 600lbs although I've never broken any crankarms in the past. Since I'm a newbie to single speeding any advice would be appreciated.

·
Registered
881 Posts
Over 200lbs...

here. Love my Eno's, they feel plenty stiff to me. I honestly think crank stiffness is over rated, after all, you need suspension somewhere on these bikes! I will say I can feel the difference from my Old RaceFace Turbines to the ENO's for sure.

Go ENO now before Ernesto makes you.

MC

abscar said:
I performed multiple searches and found alot of good info. I am partial to the ENOs but I've didn't really find many comments from cyldes regarding stiffness. I love the stiffness of my new XTRs but wonder if that stiffness would be noticeable on my new steel SS frame. I weigh 230lb and I used to be able to squat 600lbs although I've never broken any crankarms in the past. Since I'm a newbie to single speeding any advice would be appreciated.

·
Misfit Psycles
2,772 Posts
I weigh 230lb and I used to be able to squat 600lbs although I've never broken any crankarms in the past. Since I'm a newbie to single speeding any advice would be appreciated.
Cycling has got me down to 220 from 245, while I can no longer break a 500lb squat, I have had a great deal of success with the ENO cranks. For a big, strong, buff fella like yourself you will probably find the square taper lasts you longer as well. I did in 0 xt squares and 2 ISIS GigaPipes this season. In fact the ENO cranks may very well be the only crankset I install in 2006.

Go ENO now before Ernesto makes you.