Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I have to decide between the S-works carbon frame and the Pro M5. No matter the price, I'd go with the carbon frame but I'm worry about stiffness and durability.
Do I need to be more careful than with an alu frame? does it break easily?
I've never owned a carbon frame so I have no experience about it.
Is it just for xc racer or "loaded" people, or does it have a real meaning for a bike like Enduro?

Please help me because I have to take this decision in the next 2 days (I've just found 1 s-work in a store and it won't last long).

Another question: does anybody have information about components of the Comp model 2008? I've been told it's in its way to the stores but no-one here knows the specs.

thank you so much

·
Registered
1,244 Posts
goldenraptor said:
I've never heard of a high-end carbon frame anywhere breaking. Ibis and Santa Cruz and Specialized all have superb carbon. Ride it out, and if it breaks, use the warranty.
/firstquestion

As for the components on the new comp, do you think it even matters? If you can get the S-Works for a great price, go for it. I have been told it rides really well, and it won't have the semi-proprietary (for the time being, anyway) headtube of the 2008 S-Works. If you just want to buy a whole bike (and don't want to buy parts separately), then waiting would probably be a better idea so you can save some money. I can't imagine that the new Comp would be too different in parts spec from the "old" one.

·
Registered
465 Posts
Carbon SWorks

Get the carbon frame if you can. I was lucky enough to ride tha M5 before and was so happy to get the carbon. It is much stiffer and feels like a extra inch of travel.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Superchicken00 said:
Hello,
I have to decide between the S-works carbon frame and the Pro M5. No matter the price, I'd go with the carbon frame but I'm worry about stiffness and durability.