Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Read Only
950 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding long distances and entering endurance races for a few years now. It seems that for most of this time my body weight would hover around 177 lbs ( I am 6'1"). After big events or prolonged periods of training it would not be uncommon for me to drop to 173. Diet is pretty good, I use a recovery drink and generally take good care of myself.

In the last year or so I have paid more attention to being recovered and not entering every race that comes along after a couple of seasons of starting strong and becoming more and more fatiuged as the summer progressed.

This year I did the Cape Epic, and aftewards took 12 days of complete rest. When I started riding again I felt really good, and the little bit of racing I have done since then has gone well. All in all I feel like I am riding well, but now I seem to be about 182-184 pounds. What gives? Diet is pretty much the same, training load is as high, if not higher, sleep is good, etc. I did turn 40 this year, could it be a slowing of my metabolism?

If anyone has some thoughts or insight into this topic I would appreciate your response. At the moment I am tapering to the BC Bike Race, and know it isn't wise to try and lose a bunch of weight, but my current bloated state is stressing me out.

·
TRAIL KUBUKI CORNDOGGER
2,982 Posts
I too had mysterious weight gain after a couple of racing seasons (up from 170 to almost 185). I got tired of feeling my gut smack my legs as well as struggling on climbs I used to breeze up. So I did Weight Watchers on-line - which is based on a points system. I did this at the same time as I was transitioning from base to build phases. The hardest part was fitting the big ride/big calorie days into the allowed points. I managed to get to my goal of 172 where I've been hovering and staying on the Weight Watchers maintenance points. So far so good.