Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to FS biking, just recently built up a 2004 Turner 5 Spot. I have been pleased with the handling of the bike and what it has added to my riding. The one component that was a holdover from my old bike is the wheels. In the quest for finding the right wheels for my continuous engaged suspension bike I stumbled across the Ellsworth wheels.
I have been intrigued with the idea of wheels designed to maximize the performance of a continuous engagement suspension bike. However, as I have tried to find reviews on Ellsworth wheels, I have been disappointed on the lack of the reviewers addressing the specific and unique design/performance elements of the wheels.
Who can give me a review, analysis based personal experience, someone that has actually critically ridden the wheels to verify/disprove the specific design elements of the Ellsworth wheels: 1) low freewheel resistance, 2) increased track-ability, 3) width allowing the tire to maximize its side wall stiffness and put more tread block on the terrain?
I know that I am a late comer on this issue, but any input that you have will be appreciated.
Thanks

·
gnuH
1,158 Posts
Don't believe the hype. The Ellsworth wheels are over-priced, have slow engagement and don't compare in quality to other similar (or cheaper) priced options.

Try asking for wheelset recommendations on the Wheels and Tires forum and I'd be very surprised if the Ells wheels featured in anyones top 10.

p.s. Running Ellsworth wheels on a Turner would be like putting a swastika on a Spitfire.

·
ZEN RIDER!
944 Posts
If your going to spend good money at a wheel set I'd grab a set of Fulcrums or I9's. I had a chance to ride on some Fulcrums on a test bike & was amazed at how they rolled & how stiff they were.

·
Those who skibike, know..
327 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
kiwirider said: