Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have not seen too many reviews of the Evolution yet so I thought I would post one here. I have been riding my Evolution for several months now, including one 100 mile race in Crested Butte. I settled on the Evolution after demoing the Carbon Tallboy, the Pivot 429, and a custom steel WaltWorks. I have been extremely happy with the performance and feel of the Evolution. It fits my riding style like a glove (Technical XC, big climbs, long rides, fast downhills). My build is stock XO size large, ghetto tubeless conversion, Ergon grips, 2.2 WTB Bronsons. It comes in just under 29 lbs with pedals and bottle cage. The Evolution is an extremely confident descender, soaking up anything big or nasty. I had some reservations about a 5” travel 29er when compared to the ride quality of some of the other well equipped 4” bikes out there, but now that I have it, I love how plush it feels. The one thing that stands out is the handling. The bike geometry and handling feels spot on, like it was a custom fit. And cornering is oh SO good! I feel like I am neatly tucked into the cockpit, not sitting tall and awkward like some older 29ers. I also prefer the higher bottom bracket for pedal strike clearance. The bike does not feel overly squishy given the amount of travel, and is climbs competently. Yes, you can find stiffer suspension, lighter climbers out there but few that will descend quite as nice as the Evolution. I found the stock Ellsworth 29er wheelset a bit on the heavy side and the rear has already come slightly out of true. Bottom line: The Evolution is definitely a bike to consider if you are in the market for a FS 29er and leaning towards better downhill performance, versus climbing efficiency. (Rider Profile: 165 lbs, Colorado Front Range, other bikes in my quiver: GF Rig 29er Single Speed, Rocky Mountain ETSX, Favorite rides: Porcupine Rim, Reno/Flag/Bear/Dr’s Park).

·