Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!

Just bought an 2007 El Guapo on ebay, brand new (floor model?), with the build below, it's my very first mountain bike. Is the EG a good beginner bike? I also considered the Yeti 575. Since my background is dirt bike I think I'm going to be more into downhill than climbing. What do you guys think?

Also, what about the EG build, is there anything below that I should replace right away?

Your input is very apreciated. Thank you in advance!

Frame Titus El Guapo w/ Rock Shox Pearl
Fork Fox Talas 36R
Rims Mavic XM317
Hubs Shimano XT Rear, Rocky Mountain 20mm Front
Spokes DT Swiss
Tires Maxxis Minnion R 2.35"
Crankset Race Face Deus XC
Chainwheel 44/34/22
Front Derailleur Shimano LX
Rear Derailleur Sram X.9
Rear Cogs Sram PG970 11/32
Shifters Sram X.9 Triggers
Handlebars Race Face Atlas Lo Rise
Grips RMB Locking
Stem Race Face Deus XC
Brake Levers Avid Juicy 5
Brakes Avid Juicy 5 185mm
Saddle SDG RMB
Seat Post Race Face Deus XC
Seat Binder QR

By the way, I live in SoCal.

Attachments

·
Registered
154 Posts
Lots of negative attention to the Pearl Shock, but some like it. Odds are that if you don't have experience on other shocks, you won't notice a difference. A coil over shock may be more appropriate if you find yourself doing more jumps and drops.

Based on your moto background, a 203mm front rotor will give you more braking power. Before you swap out any brakes, for a couple of extra bucks, put a 203mm front rotor on.

You may also consider getting rid of the 44T front chain ring and installing a bashguard. With a 34T / 22T combo, a medium cage rear derailleur will be possible.

I hope that you enjoy your EG as much as I enjoy mine.

Congratulations on your new bike.

·
sit! stay!
1,125 Posts
the thing about beginning with the EG is you'll be spoiled!!!