Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
not so super...
11,466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was reviewing the Spot setup thread and noticed that a majority of you are running Crank Bros pedals. This got me to thinking "What am I missing?" since I've been on the Shimano units since their introduction years and years ago. I've been using the big 646 platforms for the past 3 years.

I started shopping this morning and have found good deals on a black Candy Ti set and a Orange Mallet C. If I go with the candy's will I miss the big platform or if I go with the Mallets will I regret their wieght of twice the Ti's? Which do the Homers recommend?

·
Outcast
8,588 Posts
I don't know jack about eggbeater pedals other than what they look like, but let me ask you this. Are you primarily "trail riding" this bike? Do you intend to do any drops/aggro riding? Can those eggbeaters withstand aggro riding?
I ride platforms [no clippy for me] so I can't make any recommendations other than to get you thinking about the intended use of your bike.
just make sure that the color schemes match nicely.

·
Registered
363 Posts
I just switched back to 959's after a season on Candies.

I found that the CB's are not as "intuitive" when you really need to get out of the pedals.

Say, a technical rocky climb with a lot of exposure, bike stops, you move your heel to release...nope, you're in there buddy...down and down you go.

For me it came down to those panic stops. With the Sh!mano, up and out at an angle is an option. With the CB's, its a flat heel swing, which is not what my body wants to do as I'm falling. If you want to try the Candy, let me know. I have a mildly beatup pair with cleats that are probably good for another season. Yours to try if you want.

·
Bodhisattva
10,850 Posts
Try to demo the eggbeaters before you buy.
I don't like them, or the candys, at all.