Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Former Bike Wrench
15,976 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, I'm not starting a chain lube war so if you use dino based stuff...good for you, I don't need your input.

I'm just starting a list of Eco Chain Lubes for bicycle chains

Bicycle specific chain lube:
Pedros Go
Pedros ChainJ
Dumonde Bio-Green
Ernesto Lube
Green Oil (UK)
Phil's Bio-Lube

Not bicycle specific:
G-Oil Bar and Chain (Animal fat based, I've been using it for a few months with very good success)

·
Former Bike Wrench
15,976 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
dan0 said:
what do you consider eco?
would a petroleum based product that was longer lasting , so in a years time you use less
than a "green" type lube qualify?
Who says a petroleum product lasts longer...what's the basis of that statement? There have been many studies that show certain plant and animal based oils and waxes actually out perform their petroleum counterparts in other applications (including a USFS study on chainsaws). Feel free to investigate, the information is out there.

For the record, I have been testing G-Oil Bar and Chain Green Oil this fall and winter which is animal based, meets ASTM's Ultimate Biodegradability, and it has performed as well as any petroleum or synthetic wet lube I've ever used in my 18 years of mountain biking.

Feel free to be skeptical, but the proof will be in the actual use:thumbsup:

·
Vaginatarian
5,686 Posts
mtnbiker72 said:
Who says a petroleum product lasts longer...what's the basis of that statement? There have been many studies that show certain plant and animal based oils and waxes actually out perform their petroleum counterparts in other applications (including a USFS study on chainsaws). Feel free to investigate, the information is out there.