Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding a niner wfo for 7 years. It has a Reba RL 140 fork..It is a great bike but I am getting older and no longer have the appetite or endurance for the three hour rides I used to do. In fact, even tho it's the best climber I've ever been on (better than my stumpy from before that), I can't spin up the trails and rock gardens that litter our state parks. So Ive caved and got an 'adaptive' bike - the specialized turbo levo. I really enjoy it. This bike has a revelation Deluxe RT fork 150 travel. Even though i didn't do any big jumps - i did pop over logs and land some rough descents to find that most of the front excursion was used. Sag set to 25%. Tire pressure 20 . So now I'm looking at forks. EBike specific forks are made by fox and I'm looking at the fox36. The other I'm considering is lyric r2. Anyone travel down this path before?

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thank you for your reply.

I like the low speed compression. (small bumps over rock road) But when i start climbing over 2 to 6 inch obstacles(rocks and logs) the landing feels fast and abrupt. Compression is set to 2 clicks from open. More compression starts to feel rough over roots, rocks, etc. I like the amount of travel as it allows me to deal with these obstacles with my weight (200 lbs). I just wish it went through the last half of its travel more slowly, if that makes any sense.

·
Mr. Member
117 Posts
I just replaced the RS Judy TK 100mm forks on my Trek Police eBike (PowerFly 5) with a RS Yari 160mm, which I lowered to 120mm. It has 35mm stanchion tubes and the Yari/Lyrik is designed to be extra beefy as it was designed for Enduro-type use. The downhill forks, like the Pike, have been shaved to reduce weight.

Rmpl

·
Underskilled
4,804 Posts
Nice choice of bikes.

I had a Niner WFO from their first model to last year when the third frame broke.