Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 209 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I’m new to mtn biking and the forum, but I’ve recently started riding local trails with friends and wondering why I never got into this earlier! Anyway, we want to start visiting bike parks in our area but I’m interested in possibly purchasing a full suspension bike. I currently have a Cujo Neo ebike hard tail that I’m having a lot of fun on but after riding my friends bike I’m wondering about getting a full suspension bike. But my question to you guys is should I go ebike or non ebike? Looking at probably a Scott Genius eride 920, or a Santa Cruz Bronson and I’d be using the bike mostly in the parks.
Any help would be appreciated!

·
Registered
772 Posts
You can get a lot more bike for a lot less money without a motor. Plus the motor is going to create tons of problems as you ride it. From water intrusion, vibration, battery degradation, etc. They're harder on chains and drivetrain parts. Sourcing parts are expensive. Technology changes leaving you with a 45lb heap of hard to resale junk after 3 years (if it's still working). But you'll hear lots of people on here talk about how great they are. Definitely not for me. Pedalling my way up is the fun part.

·
Registered
161 Posts
If you already have an eBike I would highly recommend a traditional human-powered bike. This would be for several reasons:
1 - Less expensive (especially if you are jumping it at a park)
2 - Fitness
3 - If you are riding at a park you will have limited need for the motor as the chairlifts will take you up the hard parts
4 - There is this idea that harder, more technical stuff requires a level of fitness and skill to ride safely, using the assistance of an e-bike makes this terrain easier to get to for less experienced riders and can lead to greater falls, and chance of injury
5 - Many trails still restrict e-bike usage, you will have a bike that can go anywhere

·
Registered