Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)

OEM takeoffs from a Specialized Epic
DT Swiss hubs (Spec Stout front and 240 level rear) 28h front, 32h rear
4.2d rims
Red anodized aluminum DT nipples
double-butted spokes front, triple-butted rear
10mm RWS skewer for the rear was included, I've got to find a 9mm skewer
1631g total with rim strips, but no skewers
I'm going to mount them up with stan's rim strips and tubeless Small Block 8's.

I've been keeping an eye out for this wheelset for a few years. I just kept searching for DT wheelsets every few weeks.
It is almost a pound lighter than my current wheels. You can probably find the completed auction, but I will say I paid less than $200. The rear skewer alone sells for $55. I'd estimate these would cost 400-500 retail, conservatively.

Keep the faith. The good deals are still out there, especially this time of year.

·
err, 27.5+
4,928 Posts
Yep, sometimes I would hate to be one of these sellers that doesn't use a reserve. My most recent adoption was 5 pack of Saint CL rotors for $35. Even at wholesale or oem pricing that seller only got back enough money to pay for one of them. Did I need them? No, not really. But since I have several Saint hubs I always have my eye out for good rotor deals on ebay. Best deal previously was about $15ea. Patience :), it pays off eventually.

·
I can't weld
547 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
92gli said:
Unfortunately its going to cost you over $50 for the DT RWS for the front. Here it is.
http://www.speedgoat.com/product.asp?part=127966
Actually I've found them as low as $39 @ a webstore. Prices are slowly dropping.

I'm considering using a 9mm bolt-on axle since I rarely remove my front wheel since going tubeless.
One user suggested Hadley's bolt-on thru-axle for $24. It looks nice & light.

·
Registered
5,973 Posts