Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm thinking about a set of these for my 2005 Iron Horse Mk3. Any opinions good or bad? $ 349.00 a pair right now seems like a good deal. Thanks

·
Registered
326 Posts
MK357 said:
I'm thinking about a set of these for my 2005 Iron Horse Mk3. Any opinions good or bad? $ 349.00 a pair right now seems like a good deal. Thanks
I've been running these wheels since 2006 and I have no problems with it what so ever! these wheelset are pretty light and recently I convert it to tubeless using the ghetto method and it's holding really good! so far. the engagement is really good. and at $349 its even better!!!!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply. I think I will order them tomorrow. Most of the quotes I've had are around two hundred bucks to build just a rear wheel. This way I'll have a front spare.

·
Registered
998 Posts
My set just arrived today, they do look pretty sweet. The QR to 20mm change is very simple. Early reviews mentioned problems with front cones (QR or 20mm) falling out when front wheel was off the bike. They must have changed the design as it doesn't look like front cones (20mm or 9mm qr) will fallout when off of a bike as it takes a reasonable amount of effort to pull them out.

I just wish that the rear wheel would come as 10mm axle rather than the little QR.

Now to get them on the bike.

·
Registered
1,674 Posts
I have been beating on these wheels for about 2.5 years and they have been great (I am about 190lbs and I beat the heak out of them on rocky trails in Colorado). Broken a couple of spokes which is par for the course for any wheel but the rims have stayed true and have had no problems with the hubs.