Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
Am looking for some tire suggestions.
I'm riding a SC Superlight. Trails in Québec are mainly rocky and rooty singletrack and/or fireroad, with some sandy sections and mud from time to time.

Actually on a Nobby Nic (2..25) front and Conti Explorer Protection (2.1, but seem smaller) rear.

I quite like the Conti in the rear, but find the NN somewhat 'sketchy' up front.
Looking for about the same sizes, not too heavy rolling and light tires, that track well.

After some research, have these listed these but looking for more suggestions and feedback:

FRONT
Maxxis High Roller or Ardent
WTB Weirwolf
Hutchinson Python
Kenda Nevegal/Excavator

REAR
Maxxis Ignitor or High Roller
Conti TK
Kenda Excavator

Thx !

·
Registered
3,493 Posts
Only the Nevegal and Excavator would more grip than No Ni. I have no experience with the the weirwolf.

Are you running the No Ni as low a pressure as you can.They like to be run in the low 20's.

You will need a big tire in the front if you are going to match a TK in the rear. They are a big tire.
TK would be a choice for the front in my books.Then maybe switch the No Ni to the rear if you still don't like it in the front

·
Registered
84 Posts
I've been using Kenda Nevegal 2.1s front and rear in Quebec. They are great on the super technical trails, good grip on rocks and roots (wet or dry). Rolling resistance is quite high though, so not the best for faster trails, fireroads, etc.

I've been looking at other options too. I tried WTB Wolverines and they were a disaster, absolutely no grip on wet roots...

I've seen a lot of people using Maxxis Ardent here, might be a good option.

Cheers

"The Dutchman in Quebec" ;-)

·
no, I'm not riding SS
184 Posts