Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry if this is discussed somewhere else. I couldn't find it.

I have the new Revved Smash. I'm new to GG and new to Eagle (GX 11sp previously).

I hop the chain on back-pedal when in the 50t gear. The chainline looks pretty angular in this configuration. I heard that shorter chainstay bikes tend to have this issue. The bike came with a chain pre-shortened, which I installed.

Any advice? Any words of wisdom? If this is the wrong place to post, let me know.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Eagle drivetrains are notoriously finicky. Use the little red tool to adjust the B-screw tension so the upper pulley lines up exactly where it needs to in relationship to the 50T chainring. See the top video on this Google Search: https://www.google.com/search?q=sra...e.1.69i57j0.5515j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

That should do it :)

FYI - I've found even 1mm difference (too much or too little tension) can cause issues. Dial that **** in! Sometimes you gotta play with it a bit.

·
Short-Change-Hero
6,534 Posts
I have experienced this over multiple drivetrains with different configurations of speeds, cassettes, derailluers, etc. Think it has just become a common problem with anything that is 10spd and up. For my NX Eagle drive train it happens after a couple of backpedals so not a huge worry for me as long as it does not happen while I am attempting to ratchet on a technical climb/rocky section.

·
Registered
2,634 Posts
The NX 12 speed on my Chamelon will do it from time to time. Either back pedal, or something if I roll backwards on a hill it will attempt to drop -depending on how far I roll back.

Pretty common, unfortunately.

·
Premium Member
10,560 Posts
It's Eagle, it's 12sp, it's life.

Don't backpedal too much or get 11sp.

I sold my Eagle stuff for this reason, too finicky, needed lots of lubing, backpedaling sucked, and it didn't always shift well.