Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Mtbr Founder
35,470 Posts

·
Mr. Member
117 Posts
Assuming you want full suspension, I would go for this. https://www.fezzari.com/wirepeak.
As a 300# Clyde also looking into full-suspension eBikes, my concern with the Wirepeak is the tighter angled rear tail so that it mounts under the top tube. I'm not an engineer, but I am a Clyde, and that looks like a weak point for the amount of stress a heavy rider puts into a rear suspension, especially with the fixed mounts all on the top tube. I would like a larger angle and the pivots on the stronger, thicker seat tube area personally.

Since Trek is having a sale right now, I have been looking at the Trek Powerfly FS 7 Plus as I love what plus tires and the additional air does for a Clyde rider.

For a hardtail, I am seriously considering the Trek Police EBike as it has the faster Bosch motor and a decent price. Essentially a Powerfly 5 but the better Bosch motor. But I sure would like to have a rear suspension like every other lighter rider. I'm down 60 pounds, so I am working on it, but at 53yo, I appreciate the motors help in my hilly, mountainous area.

But I am still looking and researching...

Rmpl

·
10,000,000 Watts
3,327 Posts
As a 300# Clyde also looking into full-suspension eBikes, my concern with the Wirepeak is the tighter angled rear tail so that it mounts under the top tube. I'm not an engineer, but I am a Clyde, and that looks like a weak point for the amount of stress a heavy rider puts into a rear suspension, especially with the fixed mounts all on the top tube. I would like a larger angle and the pivots on the stronger, thicker seat tube area personally.

Since Trek is having a sale right now, I have been looking at the Trek Powerfly FS 7 Plus as I love what plus tires and the additional air does for a Clyde rider.