Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Brass Nipples!
2,006 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just getting started with a hub dynamo powered light project for a fast touring (randoneering) road bike and despite reading lots of opinions, I'm still in the dark, so to speak, about what to do. So far I've read that:

The German made Schmidt SON seems to be considered the best money no object hub, with the highest efficiency and lowest drag when turned off. The model 20R is made for 20 inch wheels, but is probably puts out enough current for road riding at a reasonably fast speed, especially when using an LED light. It's the lightest hub and the one that uses the least amount of rider energy both when providing power and when turned off.

The old Shimano NX-30 had enough drag when off to disqualify it for a premium system, the newer Shimano DH-3N71 and Shimano Alfine DH-S500 are better, but not quite Schimdt quality. Shimano's newest hub, probably not yet available in the US (the DH-3N80) is considerably lighter and somewhat more efficient than any previous Shimano offering.

The focused-beam Schmidt E6 is an elegant solution to the low total light output of a Halogen bulb, but LED's are much more efficient, so the smart money seems to be with an LED system.

So if I'm on the right track, with the above, I'm looking for help answering the following questions:

1. Are the DH-3N71 and DH-S500 units identical in performance? I found an exploded diagram that indicated the dynamo guts were exchangeable, but not identical. I haven't been able to find a definite answer on the performance question. QBP lists both, and the price on the S500 is higher, any idea why?

2. How does the new DH-3N80 compare to the SON hubs? Sounds like they must now be very, very close in performance.