Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding on/off for a couple years and I'm finally getting serious about it.

I have a Trek 4300 Disc, and I'm thinking about upgrading to XTR Dual Control Levers..

Opionins?..

·
Registered
857 Posts
What's wrong with the EF50's?

Hope you got good cables and XT/XTR deraillures or it seems like such a waste.

I don't know how hard you ride but I can think of a million more things you could upgrade on that bike.

I bought my 4300 in Sep and so far I've already destroyed the stupid single bolt seat post(bought a 4 bolt seatpost), blew the stock shock(sent me upgraded RST with lockout), had to upgrade front deraillure(deore), been through 2 seats(both bent seat rails,), ripped the aluminum threads out of the drive side crank(yes I had the crank puller threaded in all the way), bottom bracket creaks and pops every revolution (I'm upgrading to an UN73 and Avilio cranks as we speak) and had just about every V-brake issue you can have and I still can't get them to fully stop sweaking in the rain.

There's probably more that I'm even forgetting.

I'd save your money and get out and rally that bike and fix weaks links as the come up cause they will.

·
Old man on a bike
12,395 Posts
You might want to upgrade to a 9 speed system first. Spend your money more wisely and fix what doesn't work or needs changing for fit reasons.

·
Registered
23,381 Posts
Yeah, I dont think you would gain benefit with xtr dualies on your current derrailleur and drive-train. And no offense, but xtr on a 4300 is a bit odd. I think you should do some research around here at more beneficial upgrades.

·
Registered
471 Posts