Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,
I recently picked up a Nomad and am enjoying it immensely. The only thing I'm not enjoying is dropping the chain. I am dropping the chain down between the iscg tabs and the small ring. I don't really wanna run a chain guide, does anyone make a plate that would fit up to the iscg tabs the keeps the chain from going down into them?

·
Registered
2,566 Posts
Adjust your front D, make sure your ring isn't bent with missing or bent teeth, and make sure your chain doesn't have a small twist somewhere. Even one or two links slightly out of true can cause issues.. I've been pounding my nomad for almost 2 years now and I've dropped my chain once or twice at most. It's not the nomad.

·
noMAD man
12,220 Posts
After using a couple of different chainguide systems, like you I didn't want the drag of a roller or guide block. For just stopping the chain from dropping to the ISCG tabs or BB shell, you can just use a drop plate. It's nothing but an aluminum plate that clamps under the driveside BB cup or made to bolt to an ISCG. It's simple, and it works.

Depending on where and how you ride, people can get different results on chain dropping without any chain retention device. Some need a full chainguide system for chain "flail" that actually allows the chain to change cogs in the rear. For others a simple drop plate will work to stop drop at the crank. Other things can come into play from chain length, what gear setup you ride in, front der. setup, and others. One blanket doesn't have to fit all.

Attachments

·
Some Assembly Required
4,063 Posts
slimat99 said: