Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
jalepenio jimenez
863 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I suppose I could have posted this in the "Dropper Posts" forum, but what the heck, I'm in my early 70's and prefer this forum for most of my info gathering (from peers, no less.)

Anyhow, after more than 30 years of riding without a dropper (although I had a "height-right" setup way back on one bike) I decided to spend the $$ and get a dropper.

I have to say it's nice being closer to the ground on some hairy downhill, or even exposed, trails. But for the majority of trails I have been riding in the furthest up position, and only dropping when things get sketchy.

But just recently I started riding in a slightly lower than full up for most of my pedaling, and only going full up on sections where I need to crank with all the advantage of full leg extension. I find this a bit more comfortable, and probably a bit more of a workout for the legs, but nothing that places un-necessary demand on the muscles. And not being full up coming into a techy section, I don't always feel the need to drop it any lower (esp since I used to ride in full up all the time before the dropper.)

Any good feedback on saddle height?

·
Registered
161 Posts
I'm generally full up or full down, but I'm pretty new to droppers myself. I will say one of the things that surprised me was the difference the dropper made in cornering. I'm 6'2, 260#, so getting my weight lower when cornering makes a big difference.

I made myself put the dropper down any time i got off the saddle so I would get used to using it. After a few rides of doing this I went into a corner with the dropper up and was really surprised how "tall" and unstable I felt. Made a surprising difference. I knew getting it out of the way descending would make a big difference, but I did not expect to notice anything turning.

·
Registered
6,564 Posts