Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
gainlessly unemployed
246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need to buy shifters and derailleurs for a non-SS build. Anyone have any pointers?
:thumbsup:

·
Registered
302 Posts
Shimano all the way. I have been using XTR for the past 7 years and nothing compares. I recently bought a bike spec'd w/ sram X9 and I personally would compare it to LX components. The only sram I recommend is their chains.

·
Registered
73 Posts
i just switched from Shimano XT to Sram X9 and i think the X9 is much better. I have an older (ca. 1998) XTR rear D, though, and that thing is still in great shape. I'm not a fan of the dual-control Shimano levers.

·
Freshly Fujified
8,199 Posts
Chocolate or vanilla?

Which is better? I like chocolate. I prefer SRAM. Shimano makes nice components too. It's really a toss up.

Bob

·
Registered
3,414 Posts
Sram Imo

I switched from XT/XTR to Sram X9 and like the Sram more - primarily because it is much much less finicky -

·
GOD SPEED # 58 # 69 RIP
927 Posts
I use to get Shimano all the time ( XTR ), change in 2004 did not like the new shifter system, so i got a XO derailleur and X9 shifter i don't think i'll come back to XTR!!!!!!!
SRAM is better @ least for 04,05,06.............07, well we will see!

·
Registered
269 Posts
I have sram x7 on one of my bikes and xt on the other 2. I really dont notice a preformance difference between the 2 although I do like sram's thumb shifters better.

·
Registered
136 Posts
I had XT dual shifters a year ago. I had a small crash. I was unable to shift for the rest of the ride. I bought XO twist shifters an deraileur. It has been working great for almost a year. The other problem I had with Shimano was every 3 or 4 rides I would have to readjust the rear deraileur. No such problems with Sram.

·
gainlessly unemployed
246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·