Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All, I'm a newbie to this sport and forum. I got my first mountain bike about three weeks ago, a Raleigh Talus 29, and have been riding as much as possible (at this point I'm going everyday) - I love it, totally addicted right now.

However, today I noticed some shifting issues - hesitation when shifting up (at one point the chain got stuck halfway between gears for a bit), and a noisy drivetrain in certain gears. I'm thinking that I just need to lube the chain, is that the case or is it an alignment issue? As such, I'm in need of some recommendations for what maintenance products to get and where I should get them.

Thanks guys!

·
T.W.O.
8,168 Posts
You can go to parktool.com there are a lot of info on installation and adjustments, youtube is another good source. Sounded like the cable stretches a bit and just need some fine tune. If you bought the bike new from the shop you should get at least one tune up free so use it. If you do have that tune up option, take the opportunity to learn from the web and try it yourself, you got nothing to loose if you mess up the shop would take care of it.

You'd need some basic tool, if you buy the multi-tool you can use that on the trail as well. I like topeak rachet.

·
T.W.O.
8,168 Posts
Yeah, I remember the first time I did it. I was almost there but not quite so I kept playing with it til I brought it to the shop, luckily they allowed me to be in the back I checked out how the mechanic did it, it looked too easy. Asked a couple questions here and there. A few fiddling later I know how to do it. One component down a few more to go.:)

·
RAKC
7,606 Posts