Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2,106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have been using Avid Juicy 7's for almost about 18 months without any problems but on my last 3 or 4 rides the rear pads tend to drag after long downhill sections (read lots of braking). I guess that the fluid heats up and therefore expands after lots of braking but I never had the dragging problem before. Once the brakes cool a bit they stop dragging again. The fluid is original (18 months old) so I am wondering if it needs to be changed? What is the life of disk brake fluid? What else could be causing the brakes to drag when hot?

·
Meh.
17,508 Posts
It's fluid expansion. Flush the system out and bleed with DOT 5.1 for better piston response and higher boiling point. DOT fluid is hydrophillic and absorbs water. The wet boiling point is signifcantly lower.

·
Registered
2,106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
XSL_WiLL said:
It's fluid expansion. Flush the system out and bleed with DOT 5.1 for better piston response and higher boiling point. DOT fluid is hydrophillic and absorbs water. The wet boiling point is signifcantly lower.
Kind of what I figured. DOT 5.1 must be the good stuff, can I get it a Checker, Autozone etc ?

By the way I love your atavar (sp?)

·
Meh.
17,508 Posts
Autozone didn't have it when I checked. They only had the silicone stuff, which is crap. Highly compressible and probably none too good for your seals. I had to order my bottle of Motul online. Cost something like 13 bucks with express shipping.

·
Registered
2,106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
XSL_WiLL said:
Autozone didn't have it when I checked. They only had the silicone stuff, which is crap. Highly compressible and probably none too good for your seals. I had to order my bottle of Motul online. Cost something like 13 bucks with express shipping.