Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
ICPAYDIRT
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm planning on riding in the 35-39 sport class at the Downieville Classic. Not sure about hydration strategy but my current plan is to ride with a 50 oz camelbak filled with water/minerals on my back and a bottle with electrolytes on the bike. I'm hearing temps will be touching the low 90's so I don't think that is unreasonable but it sure seems like it will be a load for the long climb up. Not sure if I can stash something towards the top or try to get a refill at one of the feed stations. I'm suspicious that 75 oz will not be enough for the whole ride but I just don't know. I am new to this race and I have no idea where to find water and how much will be available, perhaps some of the veteran racers out there have some ideas?

·
~~~~~~~
1,293 Posts
i did the race with 3 bottles (60 ounces). i had two with me, then had someone give me a handoff at packer saddle. that was enough for me and that weekend it was record heat in 2006. the second part of the course you have little chance to drink anyway. plus keeping your back free of a pack means much less sweat and heat during the race.

·
Registered
410 Posts
I'm planning to ride with a 100oz camelback, and maybe a 16 oz bottle with electrolytes in it. Are there feed stations on course?

·
Lusus Naturae
2,874 Posts
Yes, there are feed stations. One is during the climb, at about 4.5 miles in ... and I know there is one at the end of 3rd divide. I dont recall if there were any others.

I did the XC pre-ride yesterday and made some major mistakes in regards to food and hydration. Got a mean sunburn but the temps were actually pretty cool if you're not riding uphill on the exposed fireroad climb.